top of page

Green's with Envy

I'm back after an horrific Laptop disaster with my newest blog - I'll be focusing on Greens Pizzeria on the Lisburn Road, their food, staff and offers will all feature. So this was a spare of the moment decision, I was hungry and I wanted something tasty - I'd been here before, even as far back as when it was called Pizza the Action so I knew the food would be good. To be honest I had heard of a few issues with Greens recently, mostly to do with service time so I was looking forward to seeing for myself.

549 Lisburn Rd

Belfast

BT9 7GQ

028 9066 6033

www.greeenspizza.com

The food - so Greens don't just offer pizza they have recently reconstructed their menu and it now includes; an extensive Vegetarian and Vegan section, there are also some trusty favourites such as Green's Lasagne, Beetroot and Feta cheese salad, Hot and Spicy Chicken Wings and a few other offerings including Green's Pasta - keep an eye out for weekly specials and Facebook offers too!

We were there for lunch so took advantage of their amazing lunch deal - a starter, a main and a drink for £7.95 which is available Mon - Sun 12- 4pm - how good a price is that, it is shockingly good! Given the fact they are located on the prestigious Lisburn Rd they could definitely demand a lot more but they don't, I like this, they could use the location to really rip the arse of people but they have developed an excellent and very affordable menu. So what do you get for your £7.95, well I got the Dragon's Tongue Supreme as my starter, a folder garlic bread, topped with cheese and smothered in the most beautiful spicy sauce, I then got half a 10" pizza (you can upgrade to 1/2 a 12" for £1 - I strongly recommend this) and a tin of coke, Laurie got the same starter - it is incredible... and got the Green's Pasta for her main, think of a creamy, carbonara style pasta with chicken and you wouldn't be far wrong - as always I tasted and it was lovely, I still think I would get pizza next time because they are truly wonderful, cooked in a tradition clay oven and generously topped is the best way to describe them - however mine did need more cheese.

So after hearing a few negative reports about service speeds I kept a close eye on this and honestly, service couldn't have been better, we had a young waiter named Jack who was very attentive but not pushy or in your face, we were seated immediately, orders taken promptly and our food was quick, almost too quick, I would have liked my pizza to be cooked for a little longer, I know that is picky but an extra 2-3 minutes and some more cheese and we could have been talking about perfection!

Overall a really enjoyable meal - our bill came to £16.90 so I must have upgraded to the 12" haha - vintage Conor. I will definitely return to Greens, hopefully very soon, it's already been too long since I had that amazing Dragon's Tongue Garlic Bread. On a final note I'd like to revisit the price, I once paid £4.60 for a large cappuccino on the Lisburn Road - so for Greens to offer that price, and food this good with great service makes this a no brainer for me - go visit, enjoy and let me know how you get on

Conor

http://restaurantvouchers.ohhsocial.com/restaurantvouchers/belfast-food-blogger /

bottom of page