top of page

A Prestige Event of Football, Food and Falcohol

Ok so there's no such term as Falcohol but I am a sucker for alliteration. Anyway last week I probably got to experience one of my favourite events since I started the blog (18 months ago). I was a lucky guest, thanks to Talking Canvas, at the latest Sodexo Prestige Event. Where was I? Only at the Northern Ireland National Football Stadium for a VIP tour and some scrumptious food. (there may also have been some alcohol)

We were dining in the George Best Lounge; I felt privileged to be there and it was an extra bonus that the Linfield FC team were training at the same time, I sadly got excited about seeing Roy Carroll (ex Man Utd). If you've never been in the lounge, here's a few pics; what an amazing view of the pitch.

( Pictures courtesy of Emma Kenny Photography - @EmmaKennyPhotography & www.emmakenny.com )

After a tour of the stadium in which we got to check out the Changing Rooms, Press Room, Media Room and VIP Boxes it was time for the food. Each course was also matched with a complimentary drink.

So I'll admit when I heard the first course was smoked eel I died a little bit, but I did give it a go and to be honest it was actually quite nice - to me it tasted a little like tuna, it was flaky and a very mild flavour, the fact it was smoked probably helped me out - however the presentation was exceptional and I did finish it, prob the first fish dish I've ever finished on my own! Go Me.

Next up was duo of beef, we had tender brisket and a small fillet, and these were served with seasonal veg and a red wine jus. The jus was awesome but I needed more, like a bucket would have done! Check out another of Emma's pics and she spotted the head chef plating up!

Finally we finished with a Clandeboye Yogurt (only yogurt made in NI) panna cotta with poached peaches, orange jam, blackcurrants and honeycomb!

Overall the food was very good, presentation was exceptional but what impressed me most was the venue - it was an incredible experience dining in a football stadium and I am happy to report that the National Stadium is going to be used more for events like this. In fact you can get in touch with Sodexo and book the Stadium for conferences, Christmas dinners, weddings and other events - which is pretty cool! Also I think Emma has convinced me to invest in a proper camera as these pics are incredible!

So if you fancy heading to the National Football Stadium for something other than football, why not get in touch with Sodexo at

www.prestigevenuesandevents.sodexo.com

Thanks once again to Sian and Sarah at Talking Canvas for the invite - what a Fantastic night!

bottom of page