top of page

Dining @ Deanes


Tonight I dined like a King, only it was at Queens! Using some very generous gift vouchers I recieved from my Brother and Sister in law; my self, my wife (Laurie) and the in laws treated ourselves to some luxury grub down at Deanes@Queens. Head chefed by Chris Fearon, former Great British Menu contestant who was working away in the kitchen tonight. I hope he cooked my food!

Everything about the place from the bifold doors to the friendly staff was superb...but let's talk about the food! For starter (see photo) I had the Slow cooked duck, butternut squash risotto with vanilla and hazlenuts (i'm pretty sure there were some baby brussels in there too!).

My first bite surprised me, it was the vanilla infused risotto! it was sweet, too sweet actually, but when accompanied by the duck, hazlenuts and butternut squash this surprise soon turned to joy, it was scrumptious and coming in at £7.50 it was worth every penny. I have to acknowledge the portion sizes, I was expecting a small dish but this was not the case, ohh no!

For my main I had the Pork cutlet (£14.50 & cooked to perfection) accompanied by

cabbage and bacon, balck pudding fritter and an apple and horseradish sauce. The dish also had a nice currant jus, I only wish I'd asked for more as there was only enough for 3-4 bitefulls.

BFB STAR MOMENT: Tonight I tried squid for the first time (Laurie got it for her starter) and it was bloomin lovely, I have definitely been missing out! It was salt and chilli squid and it came on a bed of rocket and mixed peppers. It also came 2 dips, a sweet ginger dip with a hint of chilli and the old classic garlicmayo. http://www.michaeldeane.co.uk/resources/pdf/queens_dinner.pdf

(Menu is in link above - PDF format)

P.S. They offer a 3 course option for £20 which is sensational value for the quality of food available at this fine restaraunt.


bottom of page