top of page

Belfast's Best Breakfasts

Breakfast is my favourite meal, I try to make it a wee Saturday tradition that me and Laurie go out for a bite! Below is my list of five top places to grab brekkie in Belfast.

1. Marks & Spencers

I love this place, I can usually be found here on saturday mornings at the deli bar enjoying a Flat White with the most beautiful croissants you'll find this side of the Ocean. Other brekkie delights include the M&S fry, cumberland sausage, amazing scrambled egg (you can pick your egg) thick bacon and toast make this one of - if not my fav fry! The menu also boasts Eggs Benedict, Bacon Butty and an assortment of pastries!

TOP TIP: M&S Sprucefield do an amazing offer - Free Croissant with every hot drink purchased!

(£2.50 for all of this -WOW)

2. Harlem

So after receiving some negative press regarding 'Belfast's Worst Salad' I decided to try this place out for my self. on arrival you would be forgiven for thinking this was an auction house, the mixture of lavish furniture and multitude of pictures hanging make this place a hotspot for Belfast's trendiest residents. Cool and individual Harlem offers a massive menu including many vegetarian options (Veg Fry, Beans on Toast, Bagels) - all your usual Breakfast dishes are there (making excellent use of local produce) and they also offer an array of sweet breakfasts - Mini Pancake Stack (£4.50) Home made scones w jam (£1.85) and Granola (£4.50).

I went back two weeks in a row - here was my fav dish

3. The National

One of my first ever blogs featured this place and it still remains a firm favourite with me - if you love eggs you'll love the National. A high vaulted ceiling and exposed brickwork make this place a modern and cool place to grab a bite (what else would you expect from a listed building), the picnic stye benches also allow for a crowd, so bring your friends and enjoy dishes such as Egg Benedict/Florentine, Baked Eggs, Scrambled Eggs of Ciabatta Toast. There's also Brioche French Toast, Beef Brisket Hash and a Breakfast Knickerbocer Glory to get your mouth around! Prices range from £3.75 to £7.50 which is a steal for food this good!

4. Tony & Jens

For all you healthy people there's Tony & Jens on the Lisburn Road who offer food to meet your needs - Famous for their award winning Potato Hash they also offer many more dishes including - an assortment of Pancakes that would make Willy Wonka envious, Waffles, Fry ups, Egg O Muffins and many many more - they make healthy eating fun, tasty and moreish. These two also do a lot for charity and young people, Bravo. Keep an eye out for their specials, scrumptious

5. Blend & Batch

Quickly becoming my favourite place for Breakfast this new, up and coming establishment offer the most amazing food, delicious tray bakes and smooth coffee - what more could you want from breakfast! So I may have moved slightly out of Belfast for this one but the drive to Banbridge is well worth it. At B&B you can enjoy Smashed Avocado with poached eggs on sourdough with chilli flakes (£5.50) Sausage Bacon and Egg Bagel (£4.90) or a personal favourite of mine, straight from the oven filled Focaccia Baps with peppered brisket and cheese - in a word -sen-bloddy-sational and for only £5.20 this comes with a wee side salad! Seriously people, go here!!!

So there you have it - IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER - my top five places to grab a breakfast bite in Belfast (and Banbridge Town) I hope you all get a chance to try out a few of these places - they are all weel worth a visit - I just have to pick where I am going today, after all, it is Saturday!

bottom of page