top of page

Del Toro Lisburn

First of all, before I go any further I must apologise to Del Toro for taking two weeks to do this blog (I usually get them out in 3-4 days) but a broken iPhone and a not backed up iCloud (palm to face moment) meant that I had lost everything...my whole life was on that phone! But I have a new phone, Apple have recovered most of my stuff and I am back in the blogging world!

So two Fridays ago I was invited to Del Toro Steakhouse and Urban Grill located in Lisburn - just out the back of Bow Street Mall. Now Lisburn has never been a place that one would associate with culinary delights but Del Toro along with a few other fine establishments are starting to turn that misconception around...about time because for me, Lisburn has a lot to offer.

Del Toro Steak House & Urban Grill

19 Antrim Street, Lisburn, BT28 1AU

028 9266 8755

So myself and Lauren headed to Del Toro - the menu was vast; nibbles and sharing platters were aplenty and their offers really are fantastic - the best one for me is 2 steaks, 2 sides & 2 sauces for £22 and on a Friday Night! Add to that a bucket of beer for £10 and you really can't go wrong.

Starters

I was torn between a few...Crisp fried sriracha chicken wings at £6.25 or Deep fried nachos at £3.95 - I also quite liked the sound of the sharing platters but Lauren is a right bore, seriously considering an advert for Meal-Companion (I don't share tho) Anyway I went for the Nachos and Lauren got the ribs. So a small mexican mountain of Nachos arrived - I have honestly seen smaller villages, tasty but I needed more cheese - I poured the sour creme and salsa all over them btw before tucking in. Out of 10 I'm giving this a 7.

Lauren's ribs were a treat - they fell off the bone, were sticky (with extra sauce provided) and accompanied by a rather nice side salad. Out of 10...I'd have to go 9 here, the ribs were juicy and tender, I hate when you end up fighting with the bone for the meat - just give me it already, but honestly the meat just fell away on these - joyful joyful! (P.S. dipping bowls were provided for both starters)

Mains

Again -this menu is huge, I actually ordered my starters and kept hold of the menu as I really struggled to pick just one dish, do I go for a steak? Did I fancy the cajun shredded chicken? ohhh that hake sounds good! I decided on The Jack Daniels Peppered Beef Sizzler at £11.95, tender strips of beef with sautéed onions and mushrooms with 2 sides (this is what hooked me) a mini caesar salad and sweet potato fries! Individually mine were really tasty, but I don't know that they were great accompaniments for each other, I think I would have rather had the sizzler with mash potato and onion rings! Lauren went for the 'Chef's Special' that night, chicken with seasonal veg, champ and jus at £13.95. Presented beautifully, tasted amazing a reason alone to return to Del Toro - Bravo on a wonderful dish

Conor's Main - 6.5 out of 10

Lauren's Main - 10 out of 10

Seriously though when you go here you need to get the Magnificent 7 platter- the absolute devastation that still haunts me to this day when I saw this coming out from the kitchen knowing it wasn't mine, even worse when the couple beside you get it! - If you are a foodie like me this is basically Disney World on a plate.

Del Toro's 'Magnificent Seven' platter £37.95 (per sharing couple) Two prime 8oz sirloins, 1/4 rack of succulent fall-off-the-bone succulent ribs, crisp fried sriracha chicken wings, beer battered onion rings, handcut chips, Jack Daniels & peppercorn sauce & garlic bread

Dessert

I was full, we both were, but for the sake of the blog we soldiered on, the sacrifices we make - a decent Creme Brûlée (6/10) and a majestic Salted Caramel torte (8/10) finished off a great night in what must be one of Lisburn's most romantic venues. Mood lighting, fairy lights and elegant lanterns create an inviting and relaxed ambiance perfect for a date night, a birthday meal or a family get together (wheelchair accessible). In a city full of American diners and fast food joints it is great to have a sophisticated restaurant turning out super food with super friendly service!

(All desserts are £4.95)

I would definitely recommend this place - this is the first time I have rated each element out of ten and Del Toro have scored on average 7.75 out of 10, this along with 10 out of 10 service makes this a must try for all foodies. Enjoy

bottom of page