top of page

Savoury Afternoon Tea - Berts Jazz Bar

Why not jazz up your Weekend with some Savoury Afternoon Tea at Bert's Jazz Bar. Relax back and enjoy some delicious treats and listen to some smooth jazz all while sitting in the luxurious surroundings of the 1930s New York Art Deco inspired Bert's Jazz Bar. Part of our famous Merchant Hotel I had the chance to try this; courtesy of Niamh Parker at MCE PR; last Saturday and here's how I got on.

Bert's Jazz Bar

The Merchant Hotel 16 Skipper Street Belfast BT1 2DZ 028 9026 2713

Myself and Laurie headed down for 1:30pm on Saturday - we were greeted and shown to our seats, we were lucky to get one of the 3 luxury booths, this place oozes sophistication and class and our seats definitely added to this - a red leather semi circle seat, a round black table and dim lighting set the mood, just to our left was the stage, again dimly lit with a lovely backdrop - the music was already playing; not too loud, just in the background, a lovely touch. Our menus arrived with 2 glasses of prosecco.

So as the title suggests this was different from a traditional Afternoon Tea - more of an emphasis has been placed on savoury than sweet - but don't fear the sweets definitely haven't been neglected. shortly after our prosecco our tower arrived; I awkwardly tried to take multiple photos while our waitress gave us a detailed run down of its contents; scotch quail egg, mini pork en croute, house smoked chicken and ham with apple on ciabatta and many more - have a look for your self below!

Out of all of these my 2 favs were the Goats Cheese and Beetroot Macaron - trust me on this one, I was a little apprehensive at first but they were amazing and I absolutely loved the croque madam - think of a deconstructed cheese toastie with a baked egg in the middle and topped with more cheese - delightful! After the savoury we did get some sweet treats in the form of petit fours - pistachio loaf and chocolate truffles, accompanied by some tea was a perfect way to end our afternoon at Bert's Jazz Bar.

This is definitely a different type of treat but one I think will appeal to a lot - especially those who prefer savoury to sweet - I am one of those people people so this version of Afternoon Tea was right up my alley. Check it out below

Word of warning - this is becoming a very very popular way to spend a Saturday or Sunday and as everything is cooked fresh the chefs need 24 hours advance warning! Even as I was tucking in a few couples around me tried to order so remember to phone in advance! The cost is £25 per person so the same price as most upmarket restaurants/hotels, a fair price for me as I couldn't eat another bite all day!

bottom of page