top of page

Hot Igloo

How about some pizza and more to ease you into the weekend? Two weekends ago I headed to Gelngormley's newest eatery - Hot Igloo - aptly named as their pizza oven is shaped like an igloo. From Lisburn it took me about 15 minutes to arrive, it took me another 5 minutes to find a car parking space - however just this week the Restaurant have acquired their own private car park! Great News.

Hot Igloo

1 Ballyclare Rd, Glengormley, Newtownabbey BT36 5EU

028 9083 3844

(this is a street view and location of their new private car park)

Recently named in Belfast's Top 10 Pizza Restaurants this family run business offers more than just tasty pizzas though. The menu offers a range of dishes, not all confined to Italy - on the menu you'll find Steaks, Burgers, Pasta Dishes, Goujons, Hanging Chicken Kebab (see pic later - wow) and some other favourites too. I did however go for a pizza - I went for a classic ham and mushroom and added some red onion, Laurie got the Spaghetti Carbonara,

How was it?

So I loved seeing my pizza being made and put into the Hot Igloo Pizza oven - if you're bringing the kids they can even make create their own pizzas and watch it enter the oven, or you can even arrange a pizza making date (that's my kinda date). My pizza was good, I prefer a thinner base and I think with their oven there is definitely the scope to do that; However that's the beauty with food and opinions because Laurie absolutely loved the pizza.

Laurie's Carbonara was a winner and we actually swapped dishes half way through, I loved it! It was definitely authentic, made with eggs and salty bacon and the pasta was al dente ( had a slight firmness - perfect). While we were enjoying our meals I took in the decor, very cool with some nice touches, when you go look out for the chalk board menus on the roof and check out the missing wooden slats on the walls. The Igloo Oven is exposed which is the star of the show. The seating areas are well planned out and cater for a range of different needs - when we visited there was a Birthday Party in the far left, a family dinner just beside us, a girls night out and then a few dates so this place definitely lend iteslf to

any occasion.

(Would highly recommend this dish)

Check out their Facebook for offers such as Steak Night or Wings Wednesday! If dining out doesn't fit your schedule you can also get takeaway from here - from a separate hatch so there's no intrusion to the atmosphere. Overall a really nice night out - I met the manager Davy at the end of the night who shared his vision and goals with me and he has some exciting plans - the first of which was that Car Park!

Here's a few other images to wet your appetite and get you heading to Glengormley (including that Hanging Kebab!)

And Many Thanks to Vision PR for arranging my visit

bottom of page